Enough is Enough

I have been all over the place this week! I’m surprised that I can even think straight as I type this. I’ve been so busy with work and trying to maintain my sanity with everything that is going on. No one warned me about how chaotic the end of the school year is for a teacher. I guess I blocked last year from my memory because I don’t remember being this stressed! There are so many things to keep track of and I have lost track of what is actually important in my personal life. Β One of those things being my finances. I went on a major online ordering spree over the past few days and it has got to stop! I realized today that I have nine packages on their way to me right now. Nine!

So what am I going to do about it? I’m giving myself a budget and I’m sticking to it this time! Starting in June I will allow myself $75 per month of “fun money” for subscription boxes, beauty items, things I need, or anything that makes me happy. I think this is a fair amount and I should be able to stick with it. I’ve been using mint.com for years and I love how easy it is to create a budget and track progress over time so that is what I’ll be using to keep myself in check.

Maybe I'll actually start to fill this thing up!

Maybe I’ll actually start to fill this thing up!

What do you think? Have you given yourself a beauty budget? Does your spending go out of control when you’re feeling stressed?

Wish me luck!

xoxo πŸ™‚

13 thoughts on “Enough is Enough

  1. I definitely spend more when I’m feeling stressed! And when I’m feeling down too but then I think: hey, if it’s going to make me feel better the ends justify the means πŸ™‚ and I have a really cute piggy bank that as of yet has nothing in it! Fail πŸ˜›

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one! I’ve been been feeling down too and I know all the goodies will make me feel better (temporarily). I guess it is time to work on the source of the problem instead of adding to it. πŸ™‚

  2. You have eight, I have thirteen, but who’s keeping count, lol. I definitely stress shop, and unfortunately I’m stressed a lot lately. I do rationalise that it’s all stuff that I need, and most of it is, but I do need to stop, like now.

    • I do the same thing, I tell myself that I need something when most of the time I really don’t. I just don’t want to spend all of my money on silly things this Summer because I really want to save to go on a trip with my boyfriend. I need to keep that in mind!

      • The worst part of it is that I feel so bad and a little bit stupid about it afterwards, cause yeah it feels awesome to rip open a package and see the new shiny toy, but after a while I’m like, ugh, I really didn’t need this. At. All. But I’ve put myself on a cosmetics diet and for the next few months the nothing new will be coming in except for Ipsy and GlossyBox and whatever needs to be replaced from being used up. I think the subscriptions are a really good idea, particularly Ipsy, for $10 a month I can satisfy the new product craving, lol.

      • I totally agree! It really does make it worse sometimes. I am sticking with all my subscriptions as of right now but there are a few I can skip if I don’t like the choices.

  3. hiya~
    I’ve tried to put my self on a ban…but I don’t think that was realistic of me…should consider the budget option instead…but yes…spending too much money on beauty is something I can relate to -__-

Leave a Reply

