Review: Texturizing Hair Sprays

I have two hair products to review today. Bamboo Style Boho Waves Tousled Texture Mist  from Alterna and Beach Babe Texturizing Sea Salt Spray from Not Your Mother’s.

If there is one thing that I truly suck at, it is doing my hair. It is straight, very fine, and it tangles easily. Most of the time I blow dry it and wear it down or in a ponytail. There really isn’t much else to do with it. I have tried curls but they only last for about 5 minutes regardless of how much hairspray I use.

Texture Spray and Mist

Not Your Mother’s Beach Babe Texturizing Sea Salt Spray:

A few months ago I started using a few Not Your Mother’s products that I found at Ulta (shampoo, conditioner, volumizing hairspray, and leave-in treatment). I really liked these products and I wanted to try more. I read good things about the Beach Babe Texturizing Sea Salt Spray so I decided to give it a try. This spray claims to add sexy, tousled waves and a lite matte finish to any hair type. It sounded too good to be true and… it is. I didn’t really expect this spray to suddenly give my hair waves but I did think that it would add some texture and help it hold a style for longer than five minutes. Unfortunately that wasn’t the case. This spray smells amazing but it made my hair feel dirty, rough, and nasty. It also didn’t do anything for holding a style. I have given this spray numerous chances to wow me over the past few months but it has not lived up to any of the hype. I would not purchase this again but it must work for some people based on reviews I have read. It is just not for me.

Alterna Bamboo Style Boho Waves Tousled Texture Mist:

I received the Alterna Bamboo Style Boho Waves Tousled Texture Mist in my April Glossybox. When I saw that this was coming in the box I thought it would be just like the Beach Babe spray. I was very reluctant to even try it because I expected it to make my hair feel gross like the Not Your Mother’s. However, I was pleasantly surprised with this mist. It smells great and it made my hair super shiny. It did not make it feel dirty at all.  This mist didn’t make my hair wavy but instead it gave it a fun tousled look. I absolutely love this spray and I will likely repurchase it when I run out of this sample.

Have you tried either of these products? Do you have any recommendations for adding texture to fine/thin hair?

6 thoughts on “Review: Texturizing Hair Sprays

  1. Ooh that’s disappointing 😦
    My hair’s kind of the same way- I can curl it, and it’ll just go flat again in a few minutes. And I always thought it was the hairspray’s problem, but then I bought myself a nice ceramic straightener, and that makes wavy curls that will last all day without hairspray. Maybe that would work for your hair too?

      • Yeah, that could be it too. I have to section off my hair into 3 layers (top, middle bottom) and then take pieces from that to curl, otherwise the hair ends up being too thick and doesn’t get heated enough.

Leave a Reply

